RVG names Malawi squad for Morocco: TN Stars Dave handed first call up, Kabichi returns

Malawi national football team head coach Roony Van Geneugden has named a squad of  local based players which will go into camp on Sunday to start preparations for a 2019 Africa Cup of Nationd qualifier against Morocco on 7th September.

Coach RVG selects players from domestic scene

RVG will name the list of foreign based players on Tuesday next week.
He has given a maiden call up to TNM Super League leading scorer Stain Dave of TN Stars while  Nyasa Big Bullets midfielder Henry Kabichi returns to the Flames setup after almost four years on the side lines.
The Belgian tactician has also included two Under-20 youngsters in defenders Charles Petro of NMC Bullets Reserves and Hadji Wali of Silver Strikers.
 “This is good blend of the old guys and the youngsters who are knocking on the doors and have shown the spirit to play at top level.
“It is important to bring the young players on board. I am impressed with Dave’s performance in the local league and also happy that other, strikers Chiukepo Msowoya and Gustin Simkonda, are also perfoming and we hope they will translate that at the national team.
“We are still analysing the foreign-based players and the list will come out next week,” said RVG.
Defender Precious Sambani and striker Peter Banda were supposed to be on the list but are out in Belgium for trials  while Jack Chiona has been ruled out with an injury.
The team will camp at Mpira Village in Blantyre.
The following is the full squad
1. Brighton Munthali – Silver Strikers
2. Charles Thom – Dwangwa
3. Rabson Chiyenda – NMC Bullets
1. Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
2. John Lanjesi – NMC Bullets
3. Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
4. Chembezi Denis – Be Forward Wanderers
5. Gomezgani Chirwa – CIVO Sporting Club
6. Ian Chinyama – TN Stars
7. Charles Petro – NMC Bullets Reserves
8. Haji Wali – Silver Strikers
9. Trevor Kalema – Silver Strikers
1. Chimwemwe Idana – NMC Bullets Reserves
2. Alfred Manyozo Jnr – Be Forward Wanderers
3. Mike Mkwate – NMC Bullets
4. Rafick Namwera – Be Forward Wanderers
5. Levison Maganizo – Silver Strikers
6. Henry Kabichi – NMC Bullets
1. Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderers
2. Chiukepo Msowoya – NMC Bullets
3. Patrick Phiri – NMC Bullets
4. Righteous Banda – NMC Bullets
5. Gustin Simukonda – Moyale Barracks
6. Raphael Phiri – CIVO Sporting Club
7. Khuda Muyaba – Silver Strikers
8. Stain Davie – TN Stars
Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Harrison Kamuyango
Harrison Kamuyango

Guys tikufuna ma cross a Kondowe or atasewera 30 minutes ma cross atatu titha kupeza chigoli game Iyi ya Morocco Joseph kamwendo, Black Mamba Essay Kanyenda ndi Fisher Kondowe akufunikamo mu squad Iyi mundivomereza Saturday pa stadium

Ayatollah Habakkuk

I don’t think kuti iyi ndi squad yabwino and I don’t see any progress.
Our national football team can only do better only if Peter Mponda achoke ku technical ya flames. and bwana FAM presiden, chonde musazayimiso pa udindowu

Habakkuk Ayatollah Waxy


looking promising squad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More From Nyasatimes

More From web