Standard Bank set to unveil media awards winners: K1 million for outstanding sports writers

Ready to announce winners: The judging panel (L-R) Mavuto Kapyepye, Frank Phiri, Maclan Kanyang’wa and Ellard Manjawila.
Ready to announce winners: The judging panel (L-R) Mavuto Kapyepye, Frank Phiri, Maclan Kanyang’wa and Ellard Manjawila.

The stage is set for Standard Bank to unveil winners of the 2014 Knock-Out Cup Media on Thursday during a presentation ceremony scheduled for Atmosphere Restaurant in Blantyre.

Standard Bank Chief Financial Officer Temwani  Simwaka said the prize presentation ceremony follows a thorough screening of the submissions by a four-member independent judging panel.

“In the last two months, the independent panel of judges has been carefully assessing the submissions and debating on suitability based on set criteria. The judges were ensured thoroughness in their critique. They scrutinized every entry in detail and with a fair eye. We’re glad that finally, we have winners, some form of ‘white smoke’,” she said.

Simwaka said Standard Bank is proud to be associated with the media competition, which promotes excellence and objectivity in sports journalism in Malawi.

The competition complements the Knock-Out Cup which is contested by top flight football clubs in the land.

The judging panel is led by journalism academic Maclan Kanyan’gwa, who is the Head of Journalism and Media Studies of the Polytechnic, a constituent of University of Malawi.

Other members of the panel are Ellard Manjawila, a lecturer in the same department and former journalist at Malawi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC), Mavuto Kapyepye, Managing Director of Mlambe Consulting, an award-winning consultancy firm and author. Frank Phiri of FD Communications Ltd coordinated the judging exercise.

“The quality of entries in this year’s competition was very high. Our new categories of Online and Best photojournalist were highly competitive, and the proliferation of local television meant that we were not dealing with traditional media as usual. In the end, we are glad to have separated grain from chaff, and we look forward to announcing the winners,” said Kanyan’gwa.

A total of K1 million is up for grabs by the winners with each category winner expected to smile to the bank with K200,000.

The categories are Best Print, Best Radio, Best Online, Best Television and Best Photo-Journalist.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
SuperSport to televise Malawi Queens Fast5  games

The netball fraternity will have a chance to follow Malawi national netball team’s games at the World Fast Five Series...