TNM awards on 21 Jan to marks 10 years of football sponsorship in Malawi

Always with the football lovers, one of Malawi’s leading mobile operators Telecom Networks Malawi (TNM) has clocked 10 years since it embarked on a journey of sponsoring the top flight football league in the country.

TNM Super League Trophy at K90 million

The company took over the mantle in 2006 and to date, the league is being sponsored to the tune of K95 Million.

TNM  has since lined up a number of activities to celebrate the ten years of football sponsorship and this will go along with the prize presentation of the just ended soccer season awards.

The excelling individuals and teams in the recently concluded TNM Super League will be rewarded on 21st January 2017.

Organizers and administrators of the league Super League of Malawi (Sulom) have confirmed the date.

But Sulom General Secretary Williams Banda has told the local media that the venue for what promises to be a colourful and glamorous event will be communicated in due course.

He has however revealed that several activities including social football between a team of supporters combined with soccer administrators and reporters will play against the 2016 champions Kamuzu Barracks FC.

Banda said the activities and 2016 season prize presentation ceremony also seeks to highlight and celebrate a successful decade TNM has been sponsoring the league.

Sulom CEO hailed TNM for rescuing Malawi football.

Banda said alot of things will be highlighted at the galla night and this include listing of some of players the league has produced and now playing professional football.

“A keen analysis of the records of players, teams and coaches will also be made as part of celebrating the wonderful years TNM has been sponsoring the league,” Banda said.

The 2016 soccer season can without any doubt be described as the best season ever since TNM started sponsoring the league as the champion was for the first time identified on the very last day of the competition.

It is undisputed fact to say the league has been higly competitive both at the top and at the bottom of the table throughout.

It will also go down into the history books having one of the longest and oldest clubs Civo United been relegated.

Kamuzu Barracks has also made history for becoming the first ever military side to win the league championship under the mentorship of their youthful coach Billy Phambala.

Lilongwe giants Silver Strikers dominated the championship since 2006 followed by Nyasa Big Bullets and disbanded Escom United.

Former Nyasa Big Bullets striker Ganizani M’bobo Malunga remain the all time greatest and leading scorer in the Super League with 29 scored in 2002-03 season.

But Mafco FC hitman Richard Mbulu has also set his own record of 19 goals under the banner of TNM beating the 18 goals record set by Aggrey Kanyenda (2005) formerly of Wanderers, Chikondi Mpulula/Luka Milanzi, Vincent Chinthenga, Ishmael Thindwa and Gustin Simkonda since TNM took over sponsorship.

Below is a list of teams that have won the league title since TNM started sponsoring the league in 2006.

-Mighty Be Forward Wanderrs (2006).
-Escom United (2007).
-Silver Strikers (2008).
-Silver Strikers (2009).
-Escom United (2010).
-Silver Strikers (2011).
-Silver Strikers (2012).
-Silver Strikers (2013).
-Nyasa Big Bullets (2014).
-Nyasa Big Bullets (2015).
-Kamuzu Barraks (2016).

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

FAM/SULOM, can’t u negotiate better prize money to winning teams, 15 Million to the winning champion ???? is just peanut taking into consideration the value of our currency.
TNM does make a lot of money by associating their business with this league.

Read previous post:
Huge Blantyre derby clash:  Diamonds and Tigresses in SRNL Rainbow Paints

The most eagerly-anticipated derby is on Saturday at Blantyre Youth Centre as netball giants in Blantyre are expected to lock horns...