Malawi Savings Bank new board appointed, Victor Mbewe is head

Government  has appointed a new board of directors for state-owned Malawi Savings Bank (MSB).

According to a press statement carried in the country’s  two dailies, MSB  announced that former Governor of Reserve Bank of Malawi, Victor Mbewe is the Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

Mbewe, a commercial banker almost throughout his career,  also formerly worked as Managing Director of Standard Bank.

He  has also served  in the board on National Insurance Company (Nico).

Mbewe: Appointed Board chairperson of MSB

Mbewe brings to the MSB board considerable knowledge of the Malawi economy, risk management experience and treasury management expertise.

The MSB board was being chaired  by Joseph Mwanamvekha by virtue of being Secretary to the Treasury. He was given the boot.

President Joyce Banda appointed   career bureaucrat Radson Mwadiwa to be Secretary to Treasury  and now becomes an Ex-Officio Member in the new board.

The statement said the appointment of a new Board of Directors “is in pursuit of good corporate governance and implementation of a business strategy that will create modern delivery channels for the Bank’s diversified range of banking products and services, so as to have its clients enjoy better customer service.”

Other board directors  that have been appointed include  Dumisani Chisala , Ms. Mbilaga Mussa and  lawyer  Mrs. Maureen Kachingwe.

Others are Privatisation Commission Chief Executive Officer Jimmy Lipunga, Toyota Malawi customer relations manager Alice Konyani and Ian Bonongwe who is MSB’s  chief executive officer.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Malawi registers low tobacco rejection rate this year–TCC

Public Relation Officer for Tobacco Control Commission (TCC), has  said the average rejection rate for Auction floors this year stands at...