No hung parliament as 32 independent MPs flock to governing DPP

President Peter Mutharika was on Sunday busy scouting more independent members of parliament to boost the government bench numbers in the National Assembly.

Kayembe: To support DPP

He met 17 more independent legislators apart from the 15 he met on Saturday at Sanjika palace in Blantyre.

The 32 independent members of parliament have pledged to work with the government in the 193 strong House.

This brings the number of legislators on the government benches to 94.

A source said more independent members of parliament, MCP and UTM legislators are all willing to support the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) government in the House.

“Our aim is to ensure that we have the comfortable number of 122 members of parliament, which is the majority so that we can push government agenda in the House without problems,” said our DPP source.

Meanwhile UTM’s Steve Mikaya and People’s Party’s Ackson Kalaile Banda have refuted rumours going round that they have joined the ruling DPP.

Here are some independent legislators who have pledged to work with DPP
1. Billy Kaunda (Mzimba West)
2. Tony Ngalande (Balaka North)
3. Kenneth Ndovie (Karonga Nyungwe)
4. George Katunga Million (Phalombe Central)
5. Isaac Jason Kawelo (Blantyre West)
6. Robert Mwina (Phalombe East)
7. Patrick Bandawe (Dedza East)
8. Joseph David Nomale (Chiradzulu East)
9. Mattews Ngwale (Chiradzulu West)
10. Patrick Matola (Chiradzulu North)
11. Dr. William Banda (Zomba-Lisanjala)
12. Eurita Ntiza Valenta (Ntcheu South West)
13. Susan Dossi (Chikwawa West)
14. Ireen Mambala (Balaka South)
15. Lyana Tambala (Mulanje North)
16. Ramuzani Juma (Nsanje South)
17. Mabvuto S Scott (Thyolo South)
18. Orphan Shawa (Blantyre Bangwe)
19. Ephraim Billy Nayeta (Thyolo North)
20. McDowel A Chidumba Mkandawire (RU Central)
21. Roseby Gama Gadama (Zomba Thondwe)
22. Abigail Shariff Bongwe (Zomba Likangala)
23. Nancy Chada Mdollo (Ntcheu BwanjeNorth
24. Abel Kayembe (Dowa West)
25. Winston Kalimapanjira (Lilongwe North East)
26. Madalitso Kazombo (Kasungu East)
27. Arthur Sungani (Dowa Ngala)
28. McSteyn Mkomba (Dedza Central East)
29. Godfey Kapalamula (Mchinji East)

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Those of you that are still hopeful that the outcome of the elections will be turned around, plz start thinking otherwise; that will never happen and Will never. Forget about it with your “debt stricken” leader whose intention is to get to power that he can settle the debts

Make Malawi Great
Make Malawi Great
3 years ago
Reply to  Amaluwa

The wages of sin is Death “Dealth” is the ultimate decider my friend, time will tell there was the autocratic leader Bingu once he was like that too but his second term didnt finish too well, they say history repeats itself hey now! patience…..

Njolo mpilu
Njolo mpilu
3 years ago

Pls leave Dr Mary Shawa alone. She has got the right to freedom of speech. Mwatani? Kupepela kuzolowera licking and glorifying arses

3 years ago

So if the court rules in favour of MCP to recount the votes or rerun and Chakwera emerges the winner you will also change to join MCP??? Mwafulumiratu. And for your information dziwani kuti Mutharika and Chimulirenji pair will be the shortest to rule a country in Africa just only for a month. Paja milandu yokhudza chisankho ikapita ku court should be completed within 24 days. Moti June yemwe uno boma lakubali likupita.

3 years ago

Mary Shawa must be chopped off for being arrogant to APM instead of serving him as the President of the day.

3 years ago

These so called politicians are pathetic. They have no principles whatsoever. They are simply following the winner in order to share in the spoils. Who is going to hold the DPP Government to account? It will now be able to do what it wants with no one to say, ‘Nay’.

Ndatopa Ine
Ndatopa Ine
3 years ago

Malawi is a sorry state. That’s all I can say.

Agenda Setting Theory
Agenda Setting Theory
3 years ago

The problem in Malawi is that there is no difference between those who went to school and those who did not. Our way of thinking is almost the same. At least for most people. These people were not independent in the first place. They belong to a party before elections and if you did not know this then you have a problem. Let them be what they want to be, you gave them your vote and you have to wait for the next five year. it is until death doth you part.

Holly Tit
Holly Tit
3 years ago

I thought Madalitso Kazombo was a man of integrity. Nthawi imeneyo akutilalikira ku Chanco. He used to be known as Abusa. I didn’t know he would become a political prostitute.

3 years ago

nancy mdooka is a wife of DC based in Dowa. the family is DPP to the core its not surprising that she has joined the band of thieves. the husband messed up things in nkhata bay and was chased by people hence his transfer to Dowa

3 years ago

Wa Karonga kumapezeka Nao pa list ngati limeneri ….Karonga has the Most Analytical and Critical Minds in this Country…. No MP gets away with Foolishness ask aja Anatobweresa Third Term Bill nthawi ya Atcheya ,Olo aja anatothawa MCP nalowa kwinaku….Koma History imatiphuzintsa Chirichonse?

Read previous post:
Political analyst suggests parliament should hire commissioners for Malawi electoral body

A political analyst has suggested that the parliament should be hiring commissioners at the election management body, the Malawi Electoral...